Almost done with law school, & a new writing sample

Law school is almost over! I graduate May 27. Not quite sure what I’ll be up to next, but I’ve got a few irons in the fire, and I’m optimistic. My wife got a clerkship in Western Massachusetts, so we’re moving out there. Also, I’m touched that the Massachusetts Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild picked me (& Tasha Marshall at Western New England School of Law) for the 2016 NLG Student Award. The Guild has given me a lot during my time in law school, so this is really nice.

I wrote this motion to dismiss in the winter of 2015-16 while a student attorney at the Boston District & Municipal Court Office of the Public Defender Division of the Committee for Public Counsel Services. You can read it here.

24The motion argues for the dismissal of two charges stemming from the arrest of a rather agitated fellow. He’s alleged to have attempted to intimidate some officers, & damaged some property, in the police station.

I have permission from my supervisor to use this as a writing sample, & it is my own substantially unedited work. Dates, names, & other information have been changed in the interest of confidentiality.

Leave a Reply

